Exclusive Album Premiere: “Bruce Robison & the Back Porch Band”

Exclusive Album Premiere: “Bruce Robison & the Back Porch Band”

Following in the footsteps of Lone Star State luminaries like Robert Earl Keen and Joe Ely, singer/songwriter Bruce Robison has been tumbleweeding across the US for the last 20-plus years with his own brand of lyric-first country music. During that time, Bruce has released more than 10 solo and collaborative albums, as well as penned No. 1 hits “Travelin’ Soldier” (Dixie Chicks), “Wrapped” (George Strait) and “Angry All the Time” (Tim McGraw and Faith Hill).

photo by Kenny Braun

On Friday, April 28, the Texas native will release his first solo studio album in almost 10 years, Bruce Robison & the Back Porch Bandwhich Nash Country Daily is exclusively premiering today.

The nine-track offering features three songs penned by Bruce, as well as songwriting cuts from Jack Ingram, Jason Eady, Micky Braun of Micky & the Motorcars and more. The album also includes Bruce’s cover of “Squeezbox,” a song written by Pete Townshend that The Who took to the top of the charts in 1975.

Before you listen to our exclusive Spotify stream below, check out what Bruce had to say about our three favorites cuts from his new album, Bruce Robison & the Back Porch Band.

1. “Sweet Dreams” – written by Bruce Robison

“I love songs that are easy to play, honestly, that you don’t have to struggle over. I actually hope to get this song to George Strait. Because at some point, I think he would like this song and do an amazing job singing it. It has that little mid-tempo feel, and everybody seems to like to dance to it at my shows. [My wife] Kelly [Willis] sings harmony on it, so it’s one of my favorites too.”

2. “Paid My Dues” feat. Jack Ingram – written by Jack Ingram, Jason Eady, Micky Braun

“‘Paid My Dues’ is a duet with Jack Ingram. He delivered me my first ‘explicit’ [rating] on a song ever in my life, so I never thought that was gonna happen either, but between Ingram and me, you never know what’s gonna happen. And Jason Eady and Micky Braun wrote that too—such great songwriters. I love the tradition of songwriting that goes on down here in Texas, and there are so many folks down there, so Jack, Jason and Micky are some of my favorites.”

3. “Squeezebox” – written by Pete Townshend

“I definitely have a connection to that song. My little hometown [Bandera, Texas] had a lot of country music, but the radio station was in San Antonio and so there was a lot of rock and roll. I was like every other 13-year-old boy that loved The Who and a lot of other rock guys. But I’m just a song guy. That’s really all I’ve cared about ever since I was a little kid and so that’s fascinating to me. That’s what I love about country music—that some guys from England could write what I think is just an amazing country song, you know? And my buddy, Warren Hood, plays this crazy little Cajun fiddle part on it and I love it. I hope that [Pete Townshend] would love that a song that he wrote would go to Texas and some knuckleheads are playing it and just enjoying the vibe and the good feelings that come from that song. I love that.”

Bruce Robison & the Back Porch Band Track Listing and Songwriters

  1. “Rock and Roll Honky Tonk Ramblin’ Man” — Joe Dickins
  2. “Long Time Comin’” — Bruce Robison, Micky Braun
  3. “Paid My Dues” feat. Jack Ingram — Jack Ingram, Jason Eady, Micky Braun
  4. “Lake of Fire” — Christie Hayes
  5. “Squeezebox” — Pete Townshend
  6. “The Years” — Damon Bramblett
  7. “Long Shore” — Bruce Robison
  8. “Sweet Dreams” — Bruce Robison
  9. “Still Doin’ Time (In a Honky Tonk Prison)” — John Moffatt, Micahel P. Heen

Listen to the album Bruce Robison & the Back Porch Band on your preferred music service.
SpotifyApple Music – Tidal – Amazon